What did you think of CANDIDE?

Now that you've seen Candide, write a review or comment on someone else's review.

We read your posts with great interest and appreciation.  You won't see comments from us because this is your space to speak your mind and connect with other patrons.  Know that we are listening.  We value your feedback and always take your comments into consideration.  Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us (scroll to the bottom to add your comment)!

Comments:

I'm new to opera, I have only

I'm new to opera, I have only seen the Marriage of Figaro prior to this one. That production blew me away. It made such an impact on me that I bought a ticket to see Candide and season tickets for next year. I do have to agree it was hard to understand the dialog. I was sitting near the front and it was still a little low in volume. The stage production compared to that of the Marriage of Figaro was somewhat disappointing. Overall I enjoyed it and am looking forward to next season. The only true complaint I have is that the venue is not comfortable. I feel like a packed in sardine trying to enjoy an opera. Then on intermission, its a constant fight to get food, drink, or to use the restroom.

I'll agree with most about

I'll agree with most about how difficult it was at times to hear the spoken dialog, but overall I thoroughly enjoyed Candide...with the exception of the sets. I should say the power point presentation that was beamed on stage from a computer. I hope that this is not what has become of set design for the Portland Opera, as it felt like a lazy, cost-saving measure. If this is the way all set designs are to be, which would be tragic, I suggest that someone make some effort to go to greater lengths to make me believe that I am seeing a set instead of several dozen sheets with stock graphics shining upon them.

We left at intermission